Miranda On the BBC: Unoriginal, unfunny, and uninspiring.

250px-Miranda_(TV_series)_title

 

 

…. I really could end the article with the headline above, but in an attempt to retain some fairness I will try and expand on my opinion.

I had the misfortune to catch a bit of Miranda on the BBC the other day. That was 15 of the most excruciating minutes of cliche-jokes, look at me moments and unneccesarily crude behaviour. I mean I absolutely couldn’t bear watching the entire thing. Now, I am no prude, but the tastelessness of the jokes didn’t even add any funnies to the programme, which unbelievably is in its second/third season (what???? seriously?). How did it end up winning an award from the Royal Television Society? As Mugatu says in Zoolander “I feel like I am taking crazy pills!”

The plot revolves around a central character, Miranda, who owns a cafe, but in this particular episode has decided to sell it out after falling out with her business partner. There is also a very obvious love-interest (pass me the sick bucket) and cue Miranda goofing around.

Ok, ok, I will admit one or two jokes did hit the mark. But for a show that is featured in such a primetime slot, it just felt like rehashed comedy, and especially the way “Miranda” stared at the camera, you didn’t feel like there was any real connection, just painting by numbers.

Please please please BBC can you put on something with a bit more class, and intelligence next time? Slapstick done well is hilarious. In this case however, it felt more like a slap in the face with a wet kipper. The public are tired of programmes with canned laughter, tired old versions of the same plotlines, and actors/so-called comedians who lack conviction.

Bleurgh.

RATING: 1/10

What do you guys think? Am I being too harsh?

9 thoughts on “Miranda On the BBC: Unoriginal, unfunny, and uninspiring.

  1. Nooo, its just so nooo! I think that Miranda is brilliant! Some of the stuff she does I can actually relate to!
    I don’t know which episode it is you are talking about. Maybe it was an under-par one…

  2. I love Miranda, I think she’s hilarious, but then again humour is quite subjective so I see where you’re coming from 🙂 The Christmas one wasn’t that great, but the second episode of this season was much better.

    1. Hi Andy,

      Thanks for giving your take on Miranda – I will have to take a look at the second season and see if I agree with you on it. You are right, humour is so subjective – I think I have become a bit of a cynic when it comes to BBC ‘Comedy’ 😉

  3. I don’t think I’ve seen the Christmas one so I can’t comment but I’ve found the show really funny!
    I am inclined to agree with you about BBC comedy though, I mean, Russell Howard is on BBC3 and I do not find him in the slightest bit funny!

Leave a Reply

